Why Self Harm?

IMG_20141029_200328

Why people injure themselves?

There is a huge stigma arround self harm.

I understand why, it’s hard to see what people is capable of doing to themselves, the blod, the scars….

Our survival instinct tell us to protect ourselves not harm, so people harming themselves contrasts with our basic instinct to survive.

Do you really think that people that cut themselves does not have that instinct?

Of course they have it! So imagine how much are they suffering to go against their survival instinct!!

And let me tell you that they are not the only ones harming themselves, it’s just more shocking for society, some drink till the lose consciousness, or starve themselves, or isolates, or develop an OCD…..

Self injure is just another from of manifesting suffering. I’m NOT saying it is ok, of course is not ok to hurt yourself in any way, but I understand you are suffering so much that cutting yourself seems the only relief.

When pain is so overwhelming we try anything that works. Yes emotional pain is just as real as physical pain, I will dedicate a post to these theme. Ok you suffer, so if you cut, drink, take drugs, or starve yourself  means that it is providing you some kind of relief, but let me ask you

How long the relief lasts? I’m sure not much, because you repeat.

Is it fixing the situation? You still suffering so let me answer for you, NO it doesnt fix anything.

I value your big effort to survive and find some kind of relief, but im sorry to tell you that that is not the solution.

You learned to behaved this way, you tried once and it worked a bit, you tried again and shame thing, and another and another….So you learned “this is helping me”.

I ensure you there are other ways to canalize that horrible pain, I promise you they are other ways.

As you learned to harm yourself also YOU CAN LEARN NEW WAYS TO CONFRONT THE PAIN.

Maybe you just need help to find a new perspective.

Do you want to try something new and less harming?

Please say yes. Give it a tought.

There are proffesionals that can guide you, but the help starts with you.

Leave a comment